Autumn 2008

Over the last few months, I’ve been polishing off quite a few hills and some long distance routes. I’ve also discovered that Corbetts are just as good and exciting as Munros. A serious Bagger would probably miss this fact.

I love the Arrochar Alps; Beinn Narnain and The Brack in particular, they’ve been a good training ground for me. One of the highlights of the year has been “discovering” Blair Atholl!! Glen Tilt and the Munros situated close by have been walked and climbed with high frequency. Beinn a’Ghlo, which it’s 3 Munros, proved to be an excellent fitness test. I spent an enjoyable day up there with Dougie and Chris from work. It was Chris’s first attempt and he managed 3 Munros. Very impressed!! Another find has been The Bothy Bar next to the railway station, especially when the fire’s on!!

However, I knew I was on the way back in November when I attempted a traverse of the summits on the west side of the Lairig Ghru. This includes Braeraich, Sgurr an Lochan Uaine and Cairn Toul. These are 4,000 feet peaks and I’ll be repeating them in May. The whole day took me 11 hours and included a bit of a sprint along the Lairig Ghru from Corrour Bothy back to Aviemore for the train. A tiring but very satisfying day.

There is 7 months to go till May and it feels that I have plenty of time. But the closer I am to Christmas, the more time seems to be running out. The blog is now set up and I’m trying to get a plan going!! I’ve managed to enlist the help of Janet, a member of the LFTO forum and a keen hill-walker based in Glasgow. She’s identified a long list of companies and celebrities that I can write to and ask for donations and raffle prizes.

Comments are closed.

