July 2008

Pauline has booked me in for another 2 weeks. I’m feeling good and get away for a cracking day on the Loch Turret Horseshoe. The route takes in Ben Chonzie, which gets some bad press as being a boring Munro. Climbed from the dam, it makes for a long, cracking day. Another day, I bag some Corbetts north of Crieff, whose names escape me.

The arm’s a bit sore, but it’s just because of the work I’m doing. Pauline says that I’ve to expect lots of niggles and she’s not wrong there.

I make my decision to raise funds for the Mountain Rescue Teams and the Treatment Centre. I’d heard of a route called ‘The Scottish 4,000ers’ which runs from Aviemore to Fort William and covers the nine 4,000 feet peaks and a few other Munros along the way. I’d considered the Cape Wrath Trail, but maybe next time!!! Needless to say, everyone thinks I’m mad, but it’s something I want to do. These people rely on donations and without their contributions, my life would have been completely different!!! Or not at all!!

I’m a member of the ‘Live For The Outdoors’ forum which is attached to Trail Magazine. I search the route and find someone whose about to have a go, although not in the same capacity. Most people complete the 5 Cairngorm 4,000 feet peaks then head over to Fort William and complete the last 4 in one go. Graham Thompson, who is the main gear-tester for Trail, featured the route in the magazine 10 years ago. He has kindly emailed me the feature and I can now have a good look!!!

Yikes!!!! This is going to be interesting!!

Comments are closed.

