November 22nd 2008

I’d been planning to head back to Beinn Achaladair for a while and suddenly the day’s here. I’m actually very nervous and don’t sleep much the night before. I’m heading up with Janet and her pal John and I’m OK once I get to the car-park. The conditions are very similar to those in 2006, possibly the wind-chill is colder today. We have a great run to the summit of Achaladair, then shelter under the summit for lunch. I take a long look at where I fell. It’s steep and rocky, but I’m honest with myself and say that if the circumstances were similar, I would do the same again. I needed to see for myself that my decision wasn’t reckless, it was an accident after all. Although…. those rocks look a bit hard!!!

We finish off Beinn a’Chreachain and head back to the car. At the front of the range, I can see the Coire Achaladair, where we spent 6 hours waiting to be rescued. It looks very foreboding and cold. This was about 1700 hours, on the day, we had another 4 hours to wait!! A well earned Magners at the Bridge of Orchy Hotel and I slept for 12 hours solid!!

Comments are closed.

